God has led me to pursue missions for the last few years. He used other people to plant the idea of it in my brain so that I would truly consider it. I held off on missions because I was not sure if my heart was in it and also because of fear. God highlighted what was holding me back. He convicted me, and He urged me to press on regardless. He has revealed that there is a place for me in missions through obedience to His Word and through personal revelations.

God created me to love Him, love His word, and love obedience. I really fell in love with God in the midst of college. In that time, He grew a love for His Word in me. His word is so rich. I love that even though it was written thousands of years ago, it still speaks to me. The Bible is alive. It still relevant. God uses it speak to people to this day. God uses it to speak to me.

Throughout scripture God shows His unconditional love for His people, the Israelites. They turn away from Him over and over again. God continues to pursue them and make Himself known. God wants for everyone to have a relationship with Him. In Matthew 28 God’s son, Jesus, says: “’Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”’ Jesus urges us to be active. Jesus gives us a mission to share with everyone who God is and who He is so that ALL creation can commune with them. ALL creation can know them. We are called to be a part of this.

God is a generous God. He GAVE HIS SON: “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him” (John 3:16-17). If God is so generous, shouldn’t I be willing to share my life, my gifts, etc to further spreading the gospel? I am made in His image, therefore, I am called to be like Him.

For me, missions is responding to a call of obedience. God’s scriptures confirm this calling. His Holy Spirit has also revealed this to me. The Holy Spirit speaks to me through the Word, through fasting, through worship, and through nature most of the time. He has shown me that I am called to be a missionary. He is still revealing to me what that will look like, where that will be, and how long that will be.

God knows the desires of my heart. He know my giftings. He also knows how those align with His plan. God planted in my heart a yearning for adventure, a yearning to travel. I desire to explore the world. I want all of the places I have read about to be more than words on a page and to become tangible. Missions is definitely more than just traveling. I am aware of that. That was the primary reason for me not pursuing it sooner. God, however, has been growing in me a love for Him. My relationship with Him has grown deeper roots and developed a more solid foundation so that I can bear fruit, so that I can respond to His calling. Apart from the yearning for adventure, God has used my more introverted nature to reach out to people who aren’t as easy to love or are a little more socially awkward. He developed a patience in me that allows me to enter into relationships with these people more easily than others. It has birthed some beautiful conversations and friendships over the years. Everyone is deserving of love. Everyone has intrinsic value. I just love seeing that and helping that come to the surface so that others can see it as well.

The Holy Spirit gives me revelations and promptings sometimes. When I am really in the Word or just more attuned to the Spirit is when I am able to hear these revelations or promptings. It is a really beautifully unique experience. A lot of times it calls for instant obedience. I honestly knew April 2016 that I was supposed to be a missionary. I was on a missions trip with my church in the Dominican Republic. I had this complete peace. I realized that I would be content if I did that kind of work for the rest of my life. I had conversations with people after the trip considering missions as a career, but the fear of fundraising held me back. It wasn’t until December 2, 2016 when a group from WH & HMO came to speak to the young adult group from my church at my pastor’s house. That night God wrecked my heart. It happened after I spoke with the people from the organizations. I was listening “Trust” by Hillsong Young & Free: “There’s safety in the falling, When I surrender fully, I put all my hope in You.” Just listening to the lyrics convicted me. God challenged me on not trusting Him to provide for me if I choose a life of missions and prompted me to go apply for this internship. That Sunday, I submitted my application. Now I am an intern 9mos later.

I know that there is a place for me in missions. God’s truths in His word and what He has revealed to me have led to pursue this life. He continues to confirm it over and over again whether it is through passages like the Great Commission, Mark 6, Genesis 12, and more. God has been showing me how I fit into His plan. He knows my heart. He knows that my desires will fit into His will. He is growing my talents by refining me and drawing me closer. He is using WH to continue this process and to utilize me in His Great Commission. I am honored to be a part of it. I am honored to work with an organization that loves God, loves people, and wants to share God with all people. They have so many ways of doing this, so I am not worried about finding a place within this organization. I am just going to be obedient and continue listening to God.

Leave a Reply

